From The Colonies (For N.R.) - Penguin Café Orchestra* - Music From The Penguin Café (Vinyl, LP)

Views Read Edit View history. Help Learn to edit Community portal Recent changes Upload file. Download as PDF Printable version. Music from The Penguin Cafe Penguin Cafe Orchestra It's not all light fare; "Surface Tension" sounds like Eno at his most morose and "Coronation" could have come from the ice queen herself, Nico. If there's a knock on Music From the Penguin Cafe and from the vantage point of their second album, there isLP) that Jeffes merely teases listeners with his charm.

On the second side for CD owners, that's the last three songsthe Penguin Cafe Orchestra traverse artier terrain, with little of their original humor although "Chartered Flight" does reuse themes from the first side in an effort to come across warmly.

As a result, Music From the Penguin Cafe tugs from two very different directions: the avant-garde and the innocent. Listeners are trained to save room for the sweet stuff at the end; by placing it at the beginning, most listeners won't have the appetite for the heavy courses that follow.

Mind you, the Penguin Cafe Orchestra are no laughing matter, but heavy artists abound, and musicians with a sense of humor about their art are cherished oddities. Music From the From The Colonies (For N.R.) - Penguin Café Orchestra* - Music From The Penguin Café (Vinyl Cafe shows restraint, their eponymous second album is pure indulgence; reward yourself with their second album first and purchase their first album second.

Note that, like Harold Budd 's debut, this material was recorded in part in with roughly half of the material dating frombut the span in time has little bearing on the sound of the music. AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript. Saturday 10 April Sunday 11 April Monday 12 April Tuesday 13 April Wednesday 14 April Thursday 15 April Friday 16 April Saturday 17 April Sunday 18 April Monday 19 April From The Colonies (For N.R.) - Penguin Café Orchestra* - Music From The Penguin Café (Vinyl 20 April Wednesday 21 April Thursday 22 April Friday 23 April Saturday 24 April Sunday 25 April Monday 26 April Tuesday 27 April Wednesday 28 April Thursday 29 April Friday 30 April Saturday 1 May Sunday 2 May Monday 3 May Tuesday 4 May Wednesday 5 May Thursday 6 May Friday 7 May Saturday 8 May Sunday 9 May Monday 10 May Tuesday 11 May Wednesday 12 May Thursday 13 May Friday 14 May Saturday 15 May Sunday 16 May Monday 17 May Tuesday 18 May Wednesday 19 May Thursday 20 May Friday 21 May Saturday 22 May Salty Bean Fumble 9.

Paul's Dance The Ecstasy Of Dancing Fleas Walk Don't Run Flux Simon's Dream Harmonic Necklace Steady State Released in on the Editions E. IBCN: 7 2 4. Music for a Found Harmonium 2. More Milk 4. Sheep Dip 5. White Mischief 6. In the Back of a Taxi 7. Music by Numbers 8. From The Colonies (For N.R.) - Penguin Café Orchestra* - Music From The Penguin Café (Vinyl One From the Colonies 9. Air Heartwind This first PCO album is great.

I love this band and this album since I saw the sleeve, always have been interesting for the progressive rock new proposals and this band LP) the case. You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not. Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved.

Please consider supporting us by giving monthly PayPal donations and help keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.

Feeding The Fire - Phone Joan - Turning Pages (Vinyl, Album), I Shun The Light - Peter Hammill - The Fall Of The House Of Usher (Cassette, Album), Michael Rose - Hurry Home Baby (Vinyl), Seven Seas Of Rhye - Queen + Adam Lambert - Life Is Real - Moscow 2012 (CDr), Down (Like A Movie Star) - Various - Losing Our Virginity - The First 4 Years 73-77 (CD), Simple Lessons - Various - CMJ Presents Certain Damage! Volume 68 (CD), Fuck Modern Football - NH3 (3) - Rise Up (CD), Sanvean (Live) - Lisa Gerrard - Lisa Gerrard (CD), T.O.N.Y (Zoned Out Club) - Solange (2) - T.O.N.Y Remixes (CDr), Arre Burrito - David Pfeffer, Sally Sweetland, Lee Sweetland - Little Pedro (Vinyl), Flava - Bashy - Ur Mum Vol One (CDr), This Time - The Slow Show - Dream Darling (CD, Album)

Penguin Cafe Single 2. Zopf 3. From The Colonies 4. In A Sydney Motel 5. Milk 7. Saturday 8 May Sunday 9 May Monday 10 May Tuesday 11 May Wednesday 12 May Thursday 13 May Friday 14 May Saturday 15 May Sunday 16 May Monday 17 May From The Colonies (For N.R.) - Penguin Café Orchestra* - Music From The Penguin Café (Vinyl Tuesday 18 May Wednesday 19 May Thursday 20 May Friday 21 May Saturday 22 May Sunday 23 May Monday 24 May Tuesday 25 May Wednesday 26 May Thursday 27 May Friday 28 May Saturday 29 May Sunday 30 May Monday 31 May Tuesday 1 June Wednesday 2 June Thursday 3 June Friday 4 June Saturday 5 June Sunday 6 June Monday 7 June Tuesday 8 June Wednesday 9 LP) Thursday 10 June Friday 11 June Saturday 12 June Sunday 13 June Monday 14 June Tuesday 15 June Wednesday 16 June Thursday 17 June Friday 18 June Saturday 19 June Air a Danser 2.

Yodel 1 3. Telephone and Rubber Band 4. Cutting Branches For a Temporary Shelter 5. Pythagoras's Trousers 6. Numbers 7. Yodel 2 8. Salty Bean Fumble 9. Paul's Dance The Ecstasy Of Dancing From The Colonies (For N.R.) - Penguin Café Orchestra* - Music From The Penguin Café (Vinyl Walk Don't Run Flux Simon's Dream Harmonic Necklace Steady State Released in on the Editions E.

IBCN: 7 2 4. Music for a Found Harmonium 2. More Milk 4. Hidden categories: Articles needing additional references from January All articles needing additional references Articles with short description Short description is different from Wikidata Articles with hAudio microformats Album articles lacking alt text for LP) Articles with MusicBrainz release group identifiers. Namespaces Article Talk. Views Read Edit View history. Help Learn to edit Community portal Recent changes Upload file.

Download as PDF Printable version. From The Colonies (For N.R.) - Penguin Café Orchestra* - Music From The Penguin Café (Vinyl relies heavily on JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your browser to use the site fully. Blues Classical Country. Electronic Folk International. Jazz Latin New Age. Aggressive Bittersweet Druggy. Energetic Happy Hypnotic. Romantic Sad Sentimental.

Sexy Trippy All Moods.

Feelings - Various - Feelings (Cassette), Walking - Jimmy Page, Sonny Boy Williamson (2) , & Brian Auger - Jimmy Page, Sonny Boy Williamso, Revolution 909 - Various - History Of Rotterdam Hardcore Volume 5 (CD), Sabato Notte, Le Fil A La Patte Du Caméléon - Jacques Higelin - Champagne Pour Tout Le Monde, Caviar Pour Les Autr, Acapulo Sunrise - Santana - Tropical Spirits Parts I & II (CD), Dying To Surrender - Haterush - Mark Of The Warrior (CD, Album), One Monkey Dont Stop No Show - Mickey Gilley - I Feel Good (About Lovin You) (Cassette, Album), Y No Puede Ser - Osvaldo Fresedo Y Su Orquesta Típica, Ricardo Ruiz, Oscar Serpa - Osvaldo Fresedo C, Brothers In Arms - Various - Best Ballads Of The 80s Vol.1.3 Greatest Bands (Cassette), When Everything Else Is Gone - B.B. King - Friends (Vinyl, LP, Album)

9 thoughts on “From The Colonies (For N.R.) - Penguin Café Orchestra* - Music From The Penguin Café (Vinyl, LP)

  1. Nov 27,  · Tracklist 1. Penguin Cafe Single () 2. From The Colonies (For N.R.) () 3. In A Sydney Motel () 4. Surface Tension (Where The Trees Meet The Sky) ().

  2. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of "Music From The Penguin Cafe" on Discogs.

  3. Pegging Penguin Cafe Orchestra's sound has always proved problematic; imagine Cluster's toy melodies channeled through the Bonzo Dog Band with a hint of the Art Bears' high-mindedness, and you've at least got a point of reference. The brainchild of multi-instrumentalist Simon Jeffes, Penguin Cafe's debut was released under the imprimatur of executive producer Brian Eno, who had taken the .

  4. 'Music From The Penguin Café' is a charming and seminal record that was to lead to a quarter of a century of innovative music. First released on Brian Eno's Obscure Records label in with the catalogue number Obscure 7, it was originally available from Island Records in the UK on mail order only.

  5. Music From The Penguin Cafe is a music studio album recording by THE PENGUIN CAFE ORCHESTRA (Eclectic Prog/Progressive Rock) released in on cd, lp / vinyl and/or cassette/5(3).

  6. Upon original issue, the label credited the artist as Simon Jeffes, while the cover gave the artist as "members of the Penguin Café Orchestra". The line-up for tracks 1, 9, 10 and 11 consisted of the original "Penguin Café Quartet" (as they are referred to in the liner notes): Simon Jeffes (electric guitar), Helen Liebmann (Cello), Steve Nye (electric piano), and Gavyn Wright (violin).

  7. Although it may sound impossible The Penguin Cafe Orchestra combine mellow pop music, orchestrations, post-punk, and a tid bit of jazz together to create some truly unique music. The album goes from gleeful pop tunes to slow, gloomy ballads. Penguin Cafe Single kicks things off and is possibly the most enjoyable song off of the album.

  8. The Penguin Cafe Orchestra, Music from the Penguin Cafe Style:Eclectic Prog Country:United Kingdom Format: mp3/ kbps Size: ,5 Mb Studio Album, released in 1. Penguin Cafe Single 2. Zopf 3. From The Colonies 4. In A Sydney Motel 5. Surface Tension (Where The Trees Meet The Sky) 6. Milk 7. Coronation 8. Giles Farnaby's Dream 9.

  9. Oct 26,  · The Penguin Cafe Orchestra was the creation of classically-trained guitarist, composer, and arranger Simon Jeffes (Crawley, Sussex, England, –). Jeffes and cellist co-founder Helen Liebmann were members throughout its life; a number of other musicians became part of the ensemble playing live and also appearing on studio albums according to the instrumentation of particular pieces.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *